1 June 2008.

16 weeks, 5 days

This day was so short and yet so long. I didn’t wake up until 11 because I was up late last night on Facebook. Between waking up and 3:30, I did basically nothing. I read a little bit and listened to some music, but I was so bored, just staring at the clock waiting until 3:30.

After an eternity, 3:30 came and I left the house with my beloved Roxie. We walked all the way to Mari’s to meet her for a walk. Roxie was excited to see Mari. We walked around for an hour just talking.  It was nice not to think about Thursday for a while. We saw her new apartment building and she complained about the lack of shade. She’s moving in a few weeks. She talked about how she has to get rid of a lot of things because her new apartment is smaller than her current one.

In total, I spent two hours walking outside. Roxie really enjoyed it. Mari and I walked into the park and I put Roxie in a baby swing and started to push her. She had never been in a swing before, but remarkably, she stayed. She actually seemed to like it.

Exhaustion must be contageous, because I wasn’t tired when I left the house, but Mari was tired. And when I got back home, I went up to my room and fell asleep.

I’m reading this book. It’s called “God and I Broke Up.” It takes place in Sweden and the main character is Linnea, whose best friend, Pia, just died. She tells stories about Pia and what happened before she died. I’m only halfway through, so I don’t know yet how Pia died, but as far as young adult literature goes, it’s pretty good. Not up to John Green standards, but what is, really?

“Looking for Alaska” is one of the greatest books I’ve ever read, and I have read a lot of books. I am one of the world’s biggest book nerds. I was so into books as a kid that I decided that I couldn’t wait to be taught to read. I taught myself to read when I was five. My reasoning was, “Nobody would teach me, so I teached myself.”

Anyway, “Looking for Alaska” is one of the finest first novels ever. He definitely deserved his Printz award. And don’t say, “Well, don’t all of them deserve their awards?” The answer is no, they don’t all deserve their awards. I won’t name any particular books, but some of the award winners that I have read weren’t actually any good. When I was reading “Looking for Alaska,” I found myself laughing one minute and crying the next. I completely enjoyed the whole book.

Quote of the day: “I would rather be a coward than brave because people hurt you when you are brave.” -E. M. Forster

~ by Alida on 2 June 2008.

2 Responses to “1 June 2008.”

  1. Definitely agree with you on the John Green love! I actually sort of have a crush on him, based both on his books and on his videos with Brotherhood 2.0. But I seem to be the only one of the people I know who liked An Abundance of Katherines BETTER than Looking for Alaska, although obviously I love them both.

  2. I’ll be looking for the Looking for Alaska book for my wife b/c she loves to read. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
