2 June 2008.

16 weeks, 6 days

I started work today and became a senior. I had to go to school this morning for three hours. I was so bored all day because I had nothing to do or turn in. If it weren’t for my attendance (or lack thereof), I would not have gone at all. Except that I did have to pick up my work permit and one of my very favorite teachers had her last day today and I had to go give her the card I got for her. I’m sad because neither of my younger siblings will have the chance to have her as a teacher and she was the best math teacher I ever had. I went directly from school to the library, where I waited impatiently for almost two hours before I could start working.

I got my new name badge today. The picture is horrible, probably because it was taken on Thursday. I still hung it around my neck in pride as soon as the computer clock clicked from 12:59 to 1:00. The time passed so quickly after that. My first task was alphabetizing the summer reading program books. I had just finished the general fiction books when Ian approached me and asked me to grab a cart and meet him at the library entrance. He had leftover soda to bring in and didn’t want to carry them all the way upstairs. After that, I finished the book organizing. Then I went through the stacks to find books that people had just left of the shelves.

Katie rescued me from that task at three and took me downstairs so we could recruit teens for summer reading. I spent the last hour that I worked filling displays.

As soon as I got off work, I went to eat because I hadn’t eaten at all until then. It’s so nice to have the cafe so close. I didn’t even have to brave the heat. Since I was off the clock but still couldn’t go home, I stayed in the Great Hall with Mari and Aisha for an hour and then with Kristi, who has almost completely lost her voice, for the next hour. The laptop died, so we had to take it back upstairs to charge.

The rest of the night went by smoothly. During the last half hour the library was open, there was a sudden burst of questions. When the library closed, I carried the laptop back to the work room and went downstairs to wait for my ride.

Quote of the day: “When you get to high school, remove ‘good’ from your morning greeting. There is nothing good about mornings.” That’s a personal quote.

~ by Alida on 3 June 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
