17 June 2008.

19 weeks.

Yesterday, my sister went in for an ultrasound and found out that her baby is a boy! My mom was sure that the baby would be a girl, but she assures us that she will be very happy with a boy. Baby Boy Jayne is due 11 November 2008. I’m not entirely sure what I will do with a boy. My youngest sibling is a boy, but I was only 2 1/2 when he was born and we basically ignored him a lot.

I got some mixed news yesterday. One of the Young Adult librarians here may be moving to Illinois. She actually is driving there today for an interview for a position at a library in Normal. It would be good for her if she got it because she is only working 15 hours a week here, but it would be bad for us because she is a good librarian and a good person. All I have to say about it is, Kristi, if you end up moving, I’m going to miss you a lot!

People are particularly nutty today here at the library. For the first time, two girls completely ignored our request that one or the other move away from the computer. Usually when we send messages to the teens, they at least turn around to look at us or to see where the message came from. But these girls not only clicked out of the messages, but they ignored Aisha when she went over to tell them. Eventually, one girl moved away and pouted. Then the girl who went and pouted (whose card was the one used to make the reservation) went and told her mother about what had happened.

I slept in a little this morning, so I was 1/2 hour late to work. I’ve never been late to work before in my whole life. I’m almost always annoyingly early. It wasn’t really a big deal; I just have to stay 1/2 later. I was planning to be here later anyway.

For some reason, which I do not remember at the moment, I logged in to my library account online and instead of clicking on the view account button, I hit renew my materials and it said that I was barred. I checked in the computer and sure enough, I only have $4.70 in fines, so that wasn’t the reason. I went downstairs to the check out desk on a break and checked with them and they said that my card had been reported lost/stolen. I did lose it recently and was planning to get a new one today, but I was not the one to report it missing. So I just filled out the paperwork and got a new card. I’m a little sad that I had to do that because I like my old number and my new number isn’t very good. It’s harder to type than the old number. At least if someone finds the old card, it can’t be used.

And to end this post, the music video that started it all:

Quote of the day: “To read a book for the first time is to make an acquaintance with a new friend; to read it for a second time is to meet an old one.” -Anonymous, Chinese saying

~ by Alida on 17 June 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
