23 June 2008.

19 weeks, 6 days

I had an insane weekend. on Friday, I was making grillers (a whole food group for me, as those who know me know well) for my mother. I make grillers almost every day. When I make them for myself, I put the small pan on the front burner on the left side to cook them. But my mother wanted two grillers, so I put the pan on the back burner. Out of reflex or something, I still turned on the front burner. There was a plate on the front burner. I left the kitchen because I was chatting online with Kristi. When I came back, I flipped over the grillers and was surprised when they were cold. I looked down and saw that the bottom of the plate had turned completely black. I quickly moved it over to the counter, where it promptly EXPLODED! It was really cool! The glass was too hot for me to clean up right away, so I just left the kitchen and continued to make the grillers.

After I had made the grillers and was putting everything away, I slipped on a spot of oil that had spilled and my toe rammed right into a piece of glass that was still hot, so I got cut and burned in one shot. I already felt stupid, then I walked around for a while before cleaning and covering the wound. I was still talking to Kristi at this point and I didn’t want to tell my mom about it right away. I just had to tell someone, so I told Kristi, who confessed that she was surprised that she never blew up a plate. Eventually, I cleaned and covered my toe, which was sliced horribly. The cut is almost 2 cm. long. It’s healing okay and it doesn’t hurt a lot, which is fortunate for me.

On Saturday, the plan was originally to go to the zoo with Kristi, but at noon, I got a phone call from her saying that there were thunderstorms down where she lives, so we changed the plan and went to a movie instead. We saw Nim’s Island, which was actually pretty good. Abigail Breslin is really talented. After the movie, we went for pizza and I ate too much. I felt sick after eating. Then we drove around a little bit before I finally had to face the inevitable and go home.

On Sunday, I went over to Mari’s house and helped her pack some things and move some things. I picked up one of her cats, Miranda, who promptly hissed at me. I eventually got her to purr by brushing her. Olivia warmed up to me a lot faster. She’s so cuddly. Overall, Mari made a lot of progress. Her new apartment is smaller, but still nice. She had movers come this morning to take her large furniture over there. It seems like everyone I know is moving this summer, including my own family.

Quote of the day: “Music speaks what cannot be expressed, soothes the mind and gives it rest, heals the heart and makes it whole, flows from heaven to the soul.”

~ by Alida on 23 June 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
