Horror Movies (may contain spoilers)

So, I decided recently that I wanted to start watching horror movies. I was not allowed to watch them as a child. So far, I haven’t been scared by any of them. Not really. Depending on my mood, I do things to make me less likely to be scared. I just finished watching A Nightmare on Elm Street. The movie’s an hour and a half long. I watched it in about 45 minutes. I watch everything with closed captioning or subtitles, and I’ve found that they still show up and I can read fast enough to read them if I play the movie at 2X speed. Then I don’t hear the music that’s playing. For some movies, i just do this part of the way through, if nothing’s happening or i’m bored of what’s happening.

I’m not an expert on horror movies. Until recently, I had never seen one all the way through. I didn’t really like A Nightmare on Elm Street and I still think that Jamie Lee Curtis needed to die in Halloween. Everything she did screamed, “Kill me.”

So far, I have seen:

A Nightmare on Elm Street

Scream

The Skeleton Key

Halloween

Mr. Brooks (don’t quite know that this one counts, but it was an amazing movie)

The Sixth Sense (I temporarily lost my memory and was surprised by the ending like no one has been since 1999)

I might start reviewing some of these. As I said, I know very little about horror movies, but I’d like to give expressing my opinion a shot.

~ by Alida on 23 June 2009.

3 Responses to “Horror Movies (may contain spoilers)”

  1. you might try Alien (1979), The Thing (John Carpenter, 1982), Night of the Living Dead (1968 – grandfather of modern zombie movies), and maybe The Birds (1963). Not saying they’ll be scary, not saying they won’t. But they’re all examples of the genre that are well worth watching.

  2. Thanks, Ian. I’ll add them to the list.

  3. Nice Ian I Also Told Alida About “The Birds” & The Dead Movies.

    I Hope You Get To Watch All That You Can Befor School, Alida.

Leave a Reply

 
