Purse

My purse went missing. Not the first time. Usually turns up on its own, or is discovered after some light searching. Once, it was hidden in a closet by a child. Two days later, it didn’t show up. We searched the house and both cars from top to bottom, bottom to top.

I just had to call my bank and close my account, cancel my credit card. I hate talking on the phone to people I don’t know, even on a good day and this was already becoming one of the worst days of my life.

If you know me at all, you know that (aside from books), I’m not really into stuff. For the most part, I don’t need or want a bunch of things around. But what I do have is incredibly important to me. If it wasn’t, I wouldn’t keep it around.

So much that was in the purse can’t be replaced. My collection of temporary library cards, my collection of actual library cards, my ticket stubs, my little foot keychain, things that don’t matter to anyone but me. Why do people steal from others? I guess it’s an old question. I feel violated, having had something so personal taken from me.

Contents of the wallet:

$65

Credit card

Check card

7 picture IDs, including 4 school IDs, my license, and a season pass to Fiesta Texas from 2002, with a 2003 renewal.

3 Library cards, mine, and two old ones from friends

Every temporary library card I’ve had since moving here, except the very first one

A collection of the parking cards you get when you park at the library, including one from the very day the new library opened

My insurance card, CPR certification, PETCO PALS card, and Borders rewards card

Then, there is, of course, the wallet itself and the keychain in the shape of a foot hanging from it.

I just wish that the person who took it would have taken the money and returned the rest of the purse. Hell, take the money and any card that might have value, just give me my things back.

~ by Alida on 6 February 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
