Two Posts in One Day?!?

I don’t think I’ve ever posted twice in one day before, but there’s just so much left to say. I’ve been talking to my sister about what happened last night. I mentioned before that I don’t watch the news, so my factual information is limited to Hank Green’s wonderful video on the topic.

I’m feeling very philosophical today, most particularly about this topic.

Quote from the conversation with my sister:

“I wish we never had reason to celebrate someone’s death.”

I also spoke to the kids about it today because the topic came up right after we pulled down our street on the way home from school. Frick wondered aloud if the mother of the soldier who killed bin Laden would be proud of him. I thought about it for a few minutes before answering him.

I don’t want to type up the speech exactly as I said it, partly because it was less than eloquent, and partly because I don’t entirely remember. But the main point of it was that bin Laden was a human being. And he had a mother and a father and siblings and I am sure that they loved him, despite the many unfortunate choices he made with his life. And I told him that no matter what he did with his life, whatever poor decisions he makes, his mother will love him until the end of time. And she would be devastated if he died, even if his death meant preventing many others. And on the other side, soldiers come back from war with PTSD all the time because of what they have seen and what they have done. By most accounts, taking a life isn’t easy, even if it’s for the greater good. And now everyone is celebrating this event, and the SEAL  who shot him gets left feeling however he does about it. Maybe he’s proud of what he has done. He has certainly done a service to his country. But maybe he’s a little broken up inside, and now he has everyone telling him that he’s a hero, and that what he did was amazing, and all he feels is sadness.

I don’t know. Like I told my sister, I don’t know how anyone else feels. I only know how I feel. And it’s not good.

~ by Alida on 2 May 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
